Premed 101 Forums

GPA Conversion for US Schools?

Hey guys - I'm a 3rd year undergrad at Yale in the states, and thinking about coming back to Canada for med school. Only thing is, my GPA has suffered quite a bit due to my choice in school. It's sitting at a 3.64 right now, and I don't see it fluctuating out of the 3.6-3.65 range anytime soon. So, my question is: will Queen's/other med schools take into consideration the degree of difficulty of grading at the UG school when looking at GPA? I'm taking the MCAT this year and think I can do pretty well on it (I tend to get along well with standardized testing), but I'm worried that my GPA is going to force me to stay in the states for med school.

No. Queens doesn't care where you did your undergrad. You are on equal terms with someone that went to... say Laurentian.

As long as your GPA makes the cutoff, either the cGPA, or the best two years (>3.7), and if your MCAT makes the cut-off, you should be fine.

With a 3.65ish, that's not THAT competitive for Canadian schools. I think for most schools it's at least a 3.7+... and other schools like UofT, McMaster, it is high 3.8's. It's unfortunate that your school is a lot harder than many here in Canada, but med schools here look at all undergrad univ the same. If you have 2 years over 3.7, you would make Western's cutoff.

I'd also look into McMaster too, because a high score on VR of the MCAT would offset your GPA, permitted you ace CASPER.

UofT would be good too, but Id say you have to have some pretty outstanding EC's.

Oh.

Also your GPA's generally gonna go down when you come back.

For example, I have a friend who's going to a good American school. Has all A's and what not, which is a 4.0 there, but coming back, it's only a 3.9...

The GPA conversion is a little different... check the OMSAS for exact details.

• 3 weeks later...