Premed 101 Forums

Is there something I should do?

Guest misagh

Guest misagh

Hello hello!

Bear with me please folks...

Does your place of residence have any bearing on acceptance after the interviewing stage? I would intuitively say 'no'... And, are there less out of province students in the first year class?

For some reason I thought there were less OOP students, and that this was due to the higher cutoffs (to get to the interview stage)... of course, i could be totally off the mark... any thoughts?

There's a reason I ask...

I'm aware that certain interview days at Ottawa U are set aside for out of province interviews. My interview had been rescheduled for one of these days, but I am an Ottawa resident. I'm wondering if it's possible that somehow my interviewers/adcoms would believe me to also be an out of province applicant? Or, is my place of residence mentioned in the materials given to the interviewers/adcoms/people making the ultimate decision? And if for some reason it was believed that I was out of province, would that affect my admission chances in any way?

Yes yes, I know I'm probably making a mountain out of a mole hill, but alas, such is the nature of an anxious pre-med student. And if it's something that needs to be clarified with the school, I'd like to do so...

Thanks for your patience. :)

misagh,

When I went for my interview (I'm an OOP and I went on one of the OOP interview days), I think there were a few students from Ontario (and possibly Ottawa) area there. So I don't think that it is exclusive. Just let them know you are an Ottawa resident when you get there! Good luck!

Meghan

Hey misagh