Premed 101 Forums

Am i able to apply

ismaelmehdi

Hi

I am a student in Maisonneuve Cegep (i'm in my first semester first year) and i would like to know if i still have a chance to apply at McGill University for a Medicine program if my marks until now looks like that(please look at the attachments:o )

Right now i am really upset because a lot of my friends told me that i can't do anything now, and i just wanted o see if what they say is approved by mcgill students or not

thank you!

post-16907-140744794604_thumb.jpg

Hey Isamelmehdi,

I was a student at Collège de Maisonneuve and I finished in winter '10. I'm now doing premed at McGill so I've done the same courses that you're doing right now.

Sadly, the marks that you have now aren't good enough to enter neither at McGill nor at any French university teaching medicine program in Québec. You need at least 33,5> of R Score to get to the interviews and when I say 33,5 it's the very very very lowest score admitted to the interview !

However, it's not too late. You still have time and the chance to improve your marks since it's your first semester and since you have a lot of exams remaining.

If you have any question about Maisonneuve, Mcgill or medicine in general feel free to pm me !

I actually think that there might be a chance since this is just your first semester, and I'm guessing that those are your midterm marks. However, do those marks count for a lot? (at know that at my school, we have only obtained 25-30% of our final mark)

If they don't count for a big percentage of your final marks, they could be balanced by some higher marks (i.e you have to work damn hard)

Just work hard and aim for atleast a high 80 or 90 overall average over your first 3 semesters. Some deparments may have policies of dropping your lowest mark or a more heavily weighted final exam if you do better - check with your teachers or course outlines. Work hard!!