Premed 101 Forums

Self-Taught Science for MCAT Realistic?

lm203

Hi,

I've recently finished my first year of a U of T Bsci Psychology program, and am aspiring to become a psychiatrist.

I have a strong background in biology and quite enjoy/do well with the material, so I am unconcerned about this component of the MCAT exam. As for the chemistry and physics, however, I am wondering how possible you - those who have written the exam - feel that these components of the exam may be self-taught with a lot of dedication and help from MCAT prep books, courses, etc? While I have always excelled in my science courses, I did not take chemistry+psychics all the way to the grade 12 level for various reasons, but I will be taking introductory chemistry courses (though possibly not until after writing the exam). I am aware that it will be more difficult in this way, but is it feasible to excel on the exam regardless?

Moreover, if self-taught, do you think that the admissions committee might recognize this and look positively upon the initiative and self-determination?

Any insight would be greatly appreciated,

Thanks!

** I am aware that some schools require certain prerequisites such as organic chemistry. I plan only to apply to those that require basic biology+chemistry coursework/any work in the sciences (my neuropsych courses, etc).

As for the chemistry and physics, however, I am wondering how possible you - those who have written the exam - feel that these components of the exam may be self-taught with a lot of dedication and help from MCAT prep books, courses, etc?

Yes.

I am aware that it will be more difficult in this way, but is it feasible to excel on the exam regardless?

Redundant question. Yes.

Moreover, if self-taught, do you think that the admissions committee might recognize this and look positively upon the initiative and self-determination?

Lol, no. How are they to know you taught yourself sciences for the MCAT?