Premed 101 Forums

GPA Calculation

Hello there! I transferred from UNB to Dal this year and now realize that I must take 1st year classes that are required for my degree, but were not required at UNB. If I take a full course-load (5 classes) that includes 4 2000 level classes and 1 1000 level class, does Dal still count that as a full course-load and will therefore consider my GPA. I am in my second year and will be applying between my third and fourth year.

Thanks in advance.

Thanks for the responses! How does Dalhousie look at years that were completed previous to the two years that will be considered for the GPA calculation? Say I took 6 years to graduate because I wanted to acquire a higher yearly GPA. For example, we'll pretend my third year ended up being a mess, so I decided to complete three additional years to have my GPA calculated form year 4,5, and 6. Any input? Would this hurt me, or anyone even see the marks previous to those years?

I'm sure they see the marks, just as any school with a weighted GPA does. However they only consider your most recent 2 as long as they are full course loads. So in your hypothetical scenario they would use year 4 & 5 if you were applying during year 6. If you applied after year 6, it would be year 4, 5 & 6 GPA. And the other years would simply be irrelevant.

• 3 weeks later...

Hey guys,

I never take a full course load (always 8 during the term then 2 summer courses). If I took a full course load during my 4th year (I'm currently in 3rd year) and then started a new undergrad and applied after my first year of that, what would they be basing my GPA on?

Thanks for your help!