Premed 101 Forums

Ottawa admission process

Guest OctApplicant

Guest OctApplicant

Hi everyone!

I will be applying to Ottawa this fall (among other schools) and I have a question regarding what they post on their website about their admission process. They state somewhere that they reserve the right to assess the difficulty of the undergrad program and courses that you have taken. Does anyone know what this means and how this is carried out? Maybe some of the med students can answer this question.

What do they consider acceptable and what would they consider unacceptable to reject an applicant? I just finished my undergrad at UofT with a major in human biology and a major in a social science (semiotics and communication theory). Although I can't change what I majored in, I was wondering if I should be worried about anything. BTW I would meet the WGPA cutoff if it would stay close to last year's (3.8) .

Thanks in advance, and hopefully your replies will help me and others like me.

Good luck to those waiting for letters!!

October Applicant

I majored in bio and took all my electives in french and psyc (which are bird bird courses at Queen's). As long as most of the courses you are taking are at your grade level you should be fine (ie. if you are in 3 year - don't take all first year courses).

Also, many of my interviewers thought that my broad education was an asset. I didn't just stick to one hard core science.

Anyways, call the ottawa u admissions office and they will help you out - actually go in and sit down with them. They are usually more than happy to help students out. Just don't do it until at least the end of june. They have their hands full now and you won't get the individual help and time you need.

Guest U of O med