Premed 101 Forums

Advice on what I should do?

Hi everyone,

I am in a bit of a confused situation and would appreciate some advice as to what I should do next...

I am in my 4th year and will be finishing my undergrad degree after this term. I am confused about what I should do next year.....I meet the cutoffs for UWO and Queens with my last 2 years' GPA but a little shy of the Ottawa cutoff. I have not yet written the MCAT...I plan to do that this summer.

Can you guys give me some advice on what I should do next year? I really don't want to take a year off and would like to make the best use of my time to get closer to my medical dream....what should I do....5th year? masters?

Thanks,

mymeddream

To the OP:

Decent U/T wGPA. The MCAT is a game changer though. Check back in with us when you receive your score and know where you stand GPA-wise in your 4th year.

If you can't find a Masters that fits for the next year I would do a 5th year if I were in your shoes. Provided you think/know you can attain a 3.9ish year. It would open up Ottawa and I think an extra school would be worth it. That said, a good year (or two) of a Masters degree will give you a better chance at Toronto (but as Ottawa, no guarantees).

Best of luck.

ps: Consider US schools depending on how strong your MCAT will be.

Thanks everyone for the input.

GGGSaint: I have looked at my grades for the fall term and I think that my GPA this year should be between 3.9 - 3.94...and I am confident about that. However, I still don't make the wGPA cutoffs at Ottawa using my last 3 years GPA. Anyways, I will definitely keep you guys posted on my MCAT score...I will be writing it this summer for sure. And yes, I am also looking into US schools.....but right now, its a matter of finding a way to make the best use of my time next year and doing something that will help me in the long run.