Premed 101 Forums

MCAT Results too late??

khb008

Hey Guys, I need your expert advice.

I am currently in my 3rd year and I know how most other people have taken MCAT by now, I could not due to logistical issues. So I will be taking my MCAT for the first time in the summer.

I was hoping to take a Princeton Review course before the exam and so here is my problem.

The princeton review course I am interested in progresses from May to the end of June. This means i will be taking my MCAT in July. According to AAMC, I will get my results in 30-35 days, i.e. Mid-Late August.

Now here is the dilemma, I know most US Med schools go by a Rolling Admissions System and thus the earlier I apply the better. I also realize that they have two applications to complete (Primaries & Secondaries). My questions are:

1) Can I complete my primaries without my MCAT score?

2) Could I even complete my secondaries without MCAT Score?

3) I know that my status would be "Incomplete" but does this mean I will lag behind in the Rolling Cycle? Even though I had applied early?

Your answers will help me decide whether I should take the Princeton Review course or should I just take the test by studying on my own.

Thanks in advance guys.

-H

1) Can I complete my primaries without my MCAT score?

Yes, but it is dangerous. If your MCAT wasn't highly successful (balanced 31+), you've wasted all that time and effort to do the primary. Redoing an MCAT in August or later will put you way behind the 8 ball in terms of your chances. If you are thinking this route, apply to one school likely way out of your league (to avoid reapplication woes), and if your MCAT was good, add other schools to apply to later on once your score is in. This at least gets your primary processed and ready for immediate application to other schools once added.

2) Could I even complete my secondaries without MCAT Score?