Premed 101 Forums

Why McGill?

sirtuin

Looking to hear from any current McGill Med students or anyone familiar with their program...why should I consider McGill? Based on my initial research of their curriculum on the website, they don't seem to be very different from other traditional-style schools, such as UofT.

(p.s. I'm an Ontario student, so I'm trying to understand what makes McGill stand out from the others, especially those local to me such as UofT or Mac)

Btw, I understand the prestige factor and the fact that McGill is highly ranked in terms of medical research, but these two points don't have me convinced.

Any insight would be appreciated! :)

I might not be part of the med curriculum but the fact that McGill is located in Montréal plays a big role regarding to me. You may say "ahh it's only a city, I don't really care where I'll end up doing my med school "

Montreal has :

• a great nightlife : (Crescent, St-Denis, St-Laurent streets)
  • multiculturalism (French, Chinese, Italian, Portuguese, Korean....) and this means a lot of great restaurants, cultural events all year long...
  • Great Parks (Mont Royal, Jean-Drapeau, Lafontaine......)
  • Underground shopping centers
  • Mostly everything is close of metro/bus

McGill has a lot to offer too... a new hospital is being build

http://muhc.ca/new-muhc/dashboard

A Campus located downtown Montréal. 5 mins walks from 2 subway stations !

The few elements I've listed may be unrelated to McGill MedSchool, but it is the environment you'll live in for 4 years and even more... better be something cool and diversified.

Personally, I would like to return to study Medicine my original hometown of Montreal. As several posters have said, it's a wonderful city. The curriculum itself, as far as I can tell, does have much in common with other Canadian med schools.