Premed 101 Forums

psych and real medicine

apache

how could incorporate psych with routine medical practice, i quite enjoy psych, but i also don't want to just do psych if you know what i mean, if i do a fm residency, do i get like a year credit towards a psych residency... or would it be be better to do fm and get an ma in counseling (my undergrad is in psych and i have lots of relevant experience), any tips would be sweet, i ask a lot of shrinks this and they say they incorporate bread and butter medicine into their practice but honestly i don't really see it except for maybe in consult-liaison and even in the mental hospital there's a "consultant" fdoc. would it just be best to practice each separately, could i get an ma in counseling and prescribe with a fm residency, or is this some sort of conflict of interest?

thanks guys

how could incorporate psych with routine medical practice, i quite enjoy psych, but i also don't want to just do psych if you know what i mean, if i do a fm residency, do i get like a year credit towards a psych residency... or would it be be better to do fm and get an ma in counseling (my undergrad is in psych and i have lots of relevant experience), any tips would be sweet, i ask a lot of shrinks this and they say they incorporate bread and butter medicine into their practice but honestly i don't really see it except for maybe in consult-liaison and even in the mental hospital there's a "consultant" fdoc. would it just be best to practice each separately, could i get an ma in counseling and prescribe with a fm residency, or is this some sort of conflict of interest?

thanks guys