Premed 101 Forums

For current med students

It's close to home. I have very little experience with other provinces but from what I'm told Manitobans are generally friendlier. We have a relatively small class size so you get to know everyone. I think we have the second lowest tuition in Canada, and Winnipeg's not too expensive to live in compared to other cities.

It's close to home. I have very little experience with other provinces but from what I'm told Manitobans are generally friendlier. We have a relatively small class size so you get to know everyone. I think we have the second lowest tuition in Canada, and Winnipeg's not too expensive to live in compared to other cities.

It is very true that Manitobans are very friendly! At least compared to people in "big" cities in Ontario. When I moved from Winnipeg to Ottawa, I would always say hi to my neighbours. The only people who would ever say "hi" back were a couple from Regina who had moved to Ottawa. So I definitely found the people in Winnipeg were much friendlier than the people in Ottawa, at least those in the neighbourhoods in which I lived.

plus, based on icebowl 2010, we're definitely the coolest med students around.

and seriously, we get way more clinical experience in 3rd/4th year than other med schools. so that's awesome.

Based on OMSW and MedGames, Ottawa definitely has the coolest med students around.

It is very true that Manitobans are very friendly! At least compared to people in "big" cities in Ontario. When I moved from Winnipeg to Ottawa, I would always say hi to my neighbours. The only people who would ever say "hi" back were a couple from Regina who had moved to Ottawa. So I definitely found the people in Winnipeg were much friendlier than the people in Ottawa, at least those in the neighbourhoods in which I lived.