Premed 101 Forums

First Year

AmanC

I have a tough choice. I'm in my second semester of first year, and my GPA isn't that good.

I calculated that I will have a GPA of 3.3 (27 credits) or a 3.07(30 credits). This is because of my econ course which I got a D in.

Now my question is would it be better to drop my econ course for which I got a D in and risk my chances at med schools that require a full course load. Or should I drop the course and save my GPA.

I know that if I drop it, I won't be applicable for UofT's weighted formula, and I think to even apply at western you need to have a full course load all four years?

Also though if I decide to apply to any american med school, that D in econ I think would effect me a lot.

So i'm just really confused on what I should do, any help?

I'd relax a little bit. Most people I know have very poor first years, even those with very good grades; you're doing better than a lot of them, actually. I'd finish Econ this year and not take it again, and in the short term maybe figure out why you're having such a tough time with it... first year economics is usually a 'gimme course' in my experience, which is certainly nothing like yours so may not apply. Could you get a tutor, or devote more time to the class? Or is it just too late to fix your grade?

Its only first year grades....so relax. I would keep that economics courses to keep the 30 credits.....as you said, that will ensure that you are eligible for UofT's weighted formula, given that you take 30 credits during the next 3 years.

For Western, they look at the best 2 years and only those years need to have 30 credits. So, its not necessary to have 30 credits in every year. However, their GPA cutoff is 3.7/4.0 which must be met in each of the 2 years that are being considered your best two years......even if you were to drop the econ course, your GPA for first year will probably not go above 3.7 for first year.