Premed 101 Forums

Summer Options?

Hey so I only applied to one job opportunity this summer (Very bad idea), as I thought I had it for sure, and now I doubt I am going to get it. I am in my second year of undergrad and still have had no research or clinical experience to speak of! What do I do at this point? All of the research scholarship application deadlines are passed at this point. I have a good GPA (3.9+), but since I have no lab experience no one seems to want to hire me.

Any suggestions?

seems like there is an interesting story behind this... how did u get shafted like this?

Ha it's not too intersting. I applied to the RISE program sponsored by DAAD - basically a scholarship where you work for a PhD student in Germany. I defintely wanted to do this and didn't want to work anywhere else, since it would be amazing, and since the average GPA of accepted applicants was 3.6 and I had a 3.92, I thought I was set. It seems my lack of work experience has held me back alot. In hindsight I should've applied for an NSERC.

That's unfortunate :(

Try sending out e-mails to projects you're interested in and say you're willing to volunteer. It's late but some professors are still accepting volunteers. I just sent a bunch of e-mails out about a week and a half ago and I have a few interviews this coming week.

If not, there are always other things to do, outside of research too. Or, you can apply now for the fall of next year.

Good luck :)!

Ha it's not too intersting. I applied to the RISE program sponsored by DAAD - basically a scholarship where you work for a PhD student in Germany. I defintely wanted to do this and didn't want to work anywhere else, since it would be amazing, and since the average GPA of accepted applicants was 3.6 and I had a 3.92, I thought I was set. It seems my lack of work experience has held me back alot. In hindsight I should've applied for an NSERC.