Premed 101 Forums

Financing medical school in US

Hi, Guys. I am quebec permanent resident and i would like to apply to American medical schools. I graduated from McGill. My gpa is 3.6 and i will take mcat soon. My primary concern is that I don't have money to pay for medical school in the states. I've been living in Qc for a few yrs now, and i don't have friends who could cosign a bank loan. I am planning to work as a nurse for one year, but that money will be hardly enough to live in the states (not even paying tution fees)

So, does any of you know if there are banks in the states that give loans to Canadian PR or may be there are some programs that help to finance med school

If there is someone who has been in a similar situation, could you share how you handled it

thank you

I sympathize with your situation. Do you not have a parent who can co-sign for you? Another relative? Perhaps a plea to the community?

You will need about 300K, perhaps more in the future as tuition and cost of living rises. I'm sorry to say, there are not much options available anywhere to get that kind of sum. Perhaps focusing hard to stay locally? I hear Quebec tuition is extremely cheap.

Another idea I once had, radical though and I don't know if it would have any weight at all, is to approach local, provincial, or federal government reps and negotiate a return of service agreement. Thankfully i never got this far, but it was definitely something I thought about.

Last, I am not proud to mention this, but if medicine is something you'll do anything for, perhaps a sugar relationship is something to think about. Yes, there are some morally issues at play here, but I'm sorry to say, the world we live in is a cruel and unfair place that pits us between a rock and a hard place sometimes.

Best of luck.