Premed 101 Forums

MCAT tips and tricks

Guest dopetown

Guest dopetown

Hi,

As seen in other posts, you may have read that I'm preparing for the next MCAT. I'm studying alone with just textbooks and practice exams. I'm not taking the Kaplan or PR courses because I think I can manage a satisfactory mark without spending that kind of money. Ultimately, I think, regardless of whether I take a course or not, I would end up with some amount of knowledge and experience to hopefully do well.

However, courses like Kaplan and PR teach beyond the required knowledge and show students some tricks that may save time, improve efficiency, or whatnot.

For those of you who has taken the courses, would you mind sharing some tricks that you've learned either from courses or from others?

I've tried looking into this myself. The only two tips I can offer is to skip the difficult questions and, when answering passages, read over the questions first and then read the passage. Any more?

-Dopetown

Guest Kirsteen

Hi there,

This is a neat idea for a thread. :) Hopefully lots more folks can kick in some tips from previous experiences. Here is at least one that I learned from Kaplan and PR:

1) For the science sections, turn to and tackle the discrete questions first. You don't need to read passages to complete these (basically, they're simply biological of physical science trivia questions) and get your 15 relatively easy, non-passage-based, marks out of the way first so that you can concentrate on the passages thereafter.

Cheers, and best of luck this August,

Kirsteen

Guest UofT Student

Hey dopetown,

Like you, I'm not taking a course, because I think I can do well enough without one. Good luck to both of us and everyone else! :)

Here's another tip: if you found a section particularly difficult, don't stress about it and let it make you do badly on other sections of the MCAT. Chances are, many others found it difficult as well.