Premed 101 Forums

should i try?

Hey guys been a long time lurker and have been stressed out about my future for a while now and just thought lets ask the people who have been through it all. So my situation is this I am a kinesiology student who graduated last year I have a cum gpa of 3.4 and last two years is 3.78 every year increased from 2.72, 3.45, 3.7, 3.9. Now I took the dat and got 29 carving and 20 reading and 21 pat with 17 science and 19bio. I do not have stellar grades I know that, but something just tells me to give it a shot. I don't know...I was wondering if I have a shot at even getting an interview at the U of A which is pretty much the only school i can apply to since I live in Alberta. Even getting an interview would be tremendous, but I don't know. I do know that taking a year off like they say gives me a 3.65. That is low. Please be honest and thank youso much for your time.

I would say yes, since you exceeded all the minimums and had a killer Carving score and around an average PAT and Reading score and your last 3 years were solid. Plus the application fee is relatively inexpensive (<$100 if I remember correctly).

For U of A, if you were applying this year, you may have had a chance at at least getting an interview since your Carving was awesome (+average Reading and PAT) which makes up for a lower GPA. I don't know if there was a GPA cut-off for interviews this year. Their weighting system for selection this year was: 30% overall GPA, 30% pre-req GPA, 30% DAT, and 10% interview.

Since you're applying next year, though, the weighting of the selection criteria are changing significantly:

From http://www.med.ualberta.ca/education/ume/admissions/dofd_selection.cfm:

Beginning the Fall 2012 admission cycle the admission formula will be: