Premed 101 Forums

Can I remain hopefull??? for acceptance at American Med or DO schools?

Hi all,

I am kind of frustrated. The reason for that is evident in my GPA break down as calculated my AAMC.

BCPM AO Total

Status GPA Hours GPA Hours GPA Hours

Freshman 1.78 18.00 --- 1.80 9.00 ----- 1.79 27.00

Sophomore 3.38 16.50 ----- 3.75 12.00 ----- -3.54 28.50

Junior 3.44 16.50------ 4.00 12.00------- 3.67 28.50

Senior 3.80 30.00------ 3.77 51.00 --------3.78 81.00

Cumulative 3.19 81.00------- 3.59 84.00------- 3.39 165.00

As you can see I did very poorly (and I have reason for it) in my first 27 hours credit (1.79) and that has ruined the whole thing. Eventhough I have taken many courses (165 hrs) in my last three years with a gpa of 3.75ishh, apparently it still doesn't suffice . I am really confused why dont take a look at this upward trend????Just because I did poorlyy 6 years ago, do I still need to be punished??? I almost did two udergrad. I am also doing a masters at uoft but its research based and my gpa so far is 4.0. last year, I only applied to RFU and Wayne very late in the cycle (like November) and got rejected. This year I wanna apply to manyyy, but I first need to enhance my MCAT of 29(10/9/10). But, honestlyy I ammm hopelesss.

Hey you might want to talk to Mashmetoo, he is an expert in DO and I heard the DO schools are much more "holistic" in their assessment, meaning you have a better chance of explaining your GPA, and maybe use the master degree to your advantage.

In short, definitely consider DO because your marks are not bad for that.

Rewrite your MCAT? if you have monster MCAT (say 37+) it may compensate a lot.

Hey man. I feel for you, who would have known that screwing up in first year uni could have such a dramatic effect on your future options?