Premed 101 Forums

please help me answer my Noob questions..

Hi there, I'm currently a high school student and am very interested in going into the field of dentistry.

I would like to know..when you apply to dent school..do they care about what kind of EC you did before? your volunteers, community services, work experiences and all that stuff..? Do they only care about your grade, DAT and interview?

Also, for interview, are the questions all related to dent? has nothing to do with our personal life such as why do u want to go into dent? or what type of volunteer work did you do that are related to dentistry? there's no these stuff right? They'll only ask you dentistry knowledge based questions correct?

Thank you so much for helping out!

Hi there, I'm currently a high school student and am very interested in going into the field of dentistry.

I would like to know..when you apply to dent school..do they care about what kind of EC you did before? your volunteers, community services, work experiences and all that stuff..? Do they only care about your grade, DAT and interview?

Also, for interview, are the questions all related to dent? has nothing to do with our personal life such as why do u want to go into dent? or what type of volunteer work did you do that are related to dentistry? there's no these stuff right? They'll only ask you dentistry knowledge based questions correct?

Thank you so much for helping out!

Hey

Generally you apply to dental school in the last year of your science degree. There are some cases where you can apply before this, but that's the general rule.

ECs may factor in at some schools, so they can't hurt, but they're not that important. Grades are the most important factor for acceptance. Generally the interview is the second largest factor, followed by the DAT. The exact percentages vary by school though.