Premed 101 Forums

I am slowly going crazy,1-2-3-4-5-6...

Switch!

Hey all,

Relatively new to the forums but have been reading for a few months now and I thought I'd take a moment to share my story up until this point and in doing so I'll try to stick to brevity :D

I'm 34, soon to be 35 at the end of this month. I originally went to University for business and mathematics 14/15 years ago. I played football at Western and ended up breaking my neck (C2) in a car accident after my second year.

For the past 11 years of my career I have been accomplished in marketing and for the past 7 of those years my expertise has focused on digital marketing and measurement to become one of the leading experts in Canada.

I am also an amateur bodybuilder and compete in local and provincial shows plus I coach kids football.

Growing up, medicine had never really been an interest of mine despite having a lot of my family involved in medicine in one fashion or another and even had it been an interest I could never have afforded it. It's amazing how life experience can change your mindset. For the 7 years or so, the human body specifically nutrition, biomechanics, endocrine system and biochemistry have become a big hobby of mine and I say that's mostly in part to my bodybuilding and sports background and thanks to the internet I have had access to research and information that I ordinarily wouldn't have had access to. I read journals every day and have in my collection of books more than a handful of textbooks. The point I am illustrating is that my hobby is more of a passion of mine than my own career has been.

I've come to learn that while I am very good at marketing and have been able to make a very comfortable living at it over the years I do not LOVE marketing and it's time to start doing what I LOVE.

That's my history. My present is that I have applied to York U for the Kinesiology program and plan to take the BSc route in hoping of being able to pursue medicine.