Premed 101 Forums

Biomedical model vs. alternative/holistic approaches

Hi. This is a question for med school students. I applied to UBC this year and didn't get in, though I got an interview (so hopefully I have a chance). I'm trying to decide whether to apply again. I have a degree in science and have done research in several labs, and I've also taken a significant number of courses in the humanities. I really like the idea of a profession that combines science with working closely with people, towards health. My one concern, and the reason I'm debating whether to apply again, is that I think the reductionist/biomedical model is problematic. I'm not against science or anything, I just think the standard scientific paradigm is flawed. I'm really interested in yoga and meditation. And I'm also really interested in the placebo effect - i.e. why don't we study the placebo effect to see if we can enhance our own ability to heal. I'm not opposed to the traditional methods of medicine, I just think we need a more holistic view. I know a lot of medical doctors are interested in this as well. I'm just wondering what it's like in medical school. Like, do you spend the whole time memorizing biochemistry, etc. And are people (students, professors) are generally open to alternative approaches to medicine?

Thanks for any feedback.

Suzanne.

I think the reason we don't use placebos very often is ethics. How would you feel if your doctor prescribed you something, you shelled out $100 or more for it, and then later found out it was a sugar pill? I wouldn't be seeing him or her again, that's for sure - and would sue them out of work if my condition got worse.