Premed 101 Forums

How to start as an undergraduate

gameg2l

Hi everyone, this is my first post in this forum:p I'm a student going into second year. I'm not sure what I want to become, so I am just trying everything lol. I will be sticking around often. I'm sure this will help me a lot. Hopefully I can make some friends on here XD...

So, I've recently been going through what everyone else' been doing for EC. I used to think that research opportunities are not available for lower year students. Now that I know it's not true, I really want to try research!

I know that many people on the forum suggest that I should start emailing the prof by now before positions fill up. I have a huge problem - my family planned a vacation for the next 15 days or so (meaning I won't be back till mid August). Should I email them now before I go and meet with them after? Should I e-mail many profs or just stick to a few that seemed open to students (I have broad interest, so many prof are researching stuff I am interested)

Other thing, I looked up a few prof's research and checked their publications, etc. I just don't know what I am supposed to write in the e-mail to increase the chance of meeting them? (boost their ego by praising, showing my passion, and noting some questions?)

Last thing, any prof in UBC that you might suggest? (I really think it is important to find a mentor instead of just a supervisor)

That was long... Thank you so much :)

Hey G,

First off, welcome to the forum. :) It's a great resource and I'm glad you found it. Now straight to business.

I have a huge problem - my family planned a vacation for the next 15 days or so (meaning I won't be back till mid August). Should I email them now before I go and meet with them after?

Sure, I don't see the problem with this. You can email them now and tell them that you will be available to volunteer after your arrival (e.g. Aug 15th and onwards).