Premed 101 Forums

10 VR pointers (please add more!)

amalwa12

Hey guys,

Since I started practicing for VR in June, I've been getting a steady stream of 10s with the EK passages. I hit two 11s. And now, that I'm nearing the 14 passages, I just got two consecutive 8's :(. I'm mostly attributing this to fatigue, and I hope I'm right.

Regardless, I went through the passages I scored poorly on very carefully, and came up with some specific pointers. So, I thought I'd share them here. Please feel free to disagree with any of the points below. And even better, please add on to these pointers so others facing a hard time with VR can also benefit, since people are always asking for more specific help with this section.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

1. Focus from line 1 of paragraph 1. This is SO important, and yet I somehow don't do it often, and miss marks because of something that was mentioned in the first couple of lines.

2. While thinking about the author's background and wondering who he/she is, also look out for where the author is getting his/her information from. I often bomb questions that ask if the author is deriving his info from facts or speculation, etc. So it's best to keep that in the back of your mind while doing all passages.

3. When asked to refer back to the passage to verify a statement made in the question, don't look for the words in that statement to appear verbatim in the passage. Recently, I made the mistake of looking for the words hero/villain in the passage and when I couldn't find hero, I went for villain. I later realized that the word "protagonist" was clearly mentioned in the passage. SO, make sure you leave room for synonymous references.