Premed 101 Forums

Advisable to Do a Full-Length Practice Test Before Studying?

ecobeco

Since I will be busy next summer with school, I decided to start studying in advance this year. I've purchased TPR's materials and I've gone over a bit of orgo and verbal reasoning. Should I do a practice test first to see where I am before studying? I feel like this is a good idea but I might just end up doing horrible because I haven't done general chem and physics in so long. :confused: And this won't be a good indication of what i need to study.

First, good choice on getting the TPR books. I used them and thought they were good.

When I started studying, which was much closer to the test date than you are, I wrote a practice test very early on. I was pleasantly surprised by the result and it really helped me to get over any intimidation factor the test held for me. However, I suppose I could just as easily have gotten an ugly surprise and been completely freaked out.

Writing a practice test takes a lot of time and I'd suggest that you'd get more benefit for your time by spending those 5 hours reading the TPR books and working through the problems. As you get closer to your test date you'll definitely want to write some practice tests but for now I'd focus on covering the material.

Yeah that makes sense. I decided to just sit down with the Physics Review and do something like 50 pages a day, then move on to the other subjects saving orgo for last since there is the least amount on the MCAT. Did you do a prep course? I feel like it would be a waste of money when I can just read and practice at home for free; plus I have all 7 practice tests :S

• 2 weeks later...