Premed 101 Forums

Undergrad applying to med school in the future... Help!

Hi

I'm an undergraduate, and this fall will be my first year at the U of M. I haven't yet decided my major, but I'm leaning towards biotechnology or biochemistry. I will be taking the prerequisite requirements for medicine, which I'm really hoping to get into.

I know med school is really competitive, and I've done a lot of research about it, but I'm still confused about what I need (other than a high gpa and mcat score) in order to apply. I've read online that I need volunteer work and should shadow a doctor (is this required/recommended for application to the U of M?).

Also, when is the best time to take the MCAT and how often can you retake it?

Do most people study by themselves or buy study guides like the Kaplan?

Sorry, I know I have a lot of questions!

Slow down junior. Don't bog yourself down stressing about what is so far away for you. Things will come in time. Especially if you will major, you will possibly in your first year find your calling. Bottom line, good GPA + good MCAT + life experience will complete an application. There is a reduced weight these days on extra-currics, but they are important to do to help shape yourself. Volunteering is essential to get a prospect of humanity and to help you socially - and medical experience is nice to have to start to understand the system, understand the users of the system, and help you decide if that truly is what you want to do.

As I said, don't bog yourself down with details now. Enjoy your 1st year.

Hi there!

I'm also starting my first year at the UofM .... ahh only a little bit over a week till orientation/first day!!! :P