Premed 101 Forums

void or not?

anon1234

hi guys

i'm looking for some serious advice about my situation, please help me out!

i had been planning on applying to med school this cycle for the past few years, and had been planning on writing my MCAT in this summer however, due to some horrible family problems, my summer was an absolute mess and my whole life was upside down, due to which i said forget it, i'm not going to write this year. in retrospect i do regret this, because only after i stopped studying did i realize how much i wanted to apply. i started studying hardcore a month ago (on august 10) and signed up to write the MCAT on sept 10.

everything else in my application is ready, GPA, ECs, i just need the MCAT. issue is, i'm just not ready for it. i had not taken chem and physics in years and had to learn everything from scratch. i have made a lot of progress and understand all the material, have a lot of formulas memorized, have tried some (but not too many) passages from the workbooks.

i worked VERY hard on verbal. i did improve a lot in that, however my nemesis has become physics and gen chem, which have taken so long for me to learn and memorize that i had NO time left for practice.