Premed 101 Forums

*Volunteering and extra-currics

Guest Ian Wong

Guest Ian Wong

Author:*Paul

Date:***8/24/2000 2:50 pm*PST

As of now I have no volunteer experience. I was wondering if doctor shadowing programs are sufficient, how long should you do them, should you get a letter of recommendation from them, and how are there special hospitals that participate in this or do you just have to call up each hospital? I am really not sure what to do and I need your guys help. Also when you get a letter of recommendation from someone before you even start the application process is this a smart thing to do? And if so does the person just make multiple copies and you give them envelopes where they can stick them in for your future use when you need to use them? When they ask you about extra curricular activities how can you show them you belong to clubs and committees associated with the college and off the college or is there any way to prove this on the application process? Finally when you have to do secondary essays what should you say differently from the first ones and how important are both of these essays into getting into med school? Sorry for all the questions but these are questions I haven't heard from anyone and I really need to have some support on what to do. THanks to anyone who responds.

P.S love the site even though I am a american pre-med.

Guest Ian Wong

Author:*Ian Wong

Date:***8/25/2000 5:31 pm*PST

Paul wrote:

-------------------------------