Premed 101 Forums

Any other option other than 2nd degree?

Hi everyone,

I just signed up to hopefully get some advice and insight about my particular predicament here. I graduated with a low 2.7cgpa in health sciences and have already completed most of the pre-reqs - some of which I did poorly in (first and second year ones) and others where I did okay, but obviously not good enough to be competitive. To keep this short, it was really due to not being motivated enough and really immature early on. I just worked a lot and cruised through my degree. I actually gave up on med during one semester, but the more I tried not to think about pursuing it, the more I did think about it. In the end, I still want to pursue med.

I actually only have one full year where I got straight A's and a few B+'s with a 5 course work load for 2 semesters. Unfortunately, they were in health science courses, most of which were upper division courses. I just wanted to point this out as maybe I could use this one year as part of the two best years for some schools. In all honesty, I don't think this actually helps my case at all really as more of them consider the last two years.

I can't do grad school as my gpa isn't good enough. I can't do an SMP or a post-baccalaureate program in the states for the same reason. After reading the stickies, the only thing I think I can do is a 2nd degree and give it my all the second time around. But this is all I know and I'm going for it unless anyone knows any other options? If anyone has taken this route or currently taking this route, can you please give me some advice? I know some of the responses will be brutal and harsh, but I don't mind. I understand I've made mistakes and know where I stand...relatively. I just need some help.

Thanks in advance!