Premed 101 Forums

What do I do about reference letters

Guest Andrea

Hello to everyone:

My question is the following, where do students applying to med school get their references from?

I think I am competitive in the other areas (grades, volunteering, MCAT) but I am terrified about the references, I'm lost as to what to do. Does anybody have any suggestions. I have taken courses where I did really well and even got the top class mark, but I feel I am just a head in the sea of students and asking the prof for a reference would just produce a standard letter. I did not do any bio or med research over the summers because my degree is in chemical engineering (but I covered the prereq's). Any suggestions would be really really appreciated!

Thanks to all and good luck in the application/interview process.

Andrea

I'm almost sure that you'll need at least one academic letter of reference by one of you're profs, so you'll have to try to find one of those. For the others, what about someone that you volunteered with (for example, one of my letters was from the recreation therapist that I volunteer with) or a boss or coach (if you play anything)?

Good luck! :)

Guest UWOMED2005

My advice probably isn't the best as I got into Western, which as far as I know doesn't check reference letters as far as I know. In fact, I think most schools only use the letters as a 'flag' (ie bad one could kill you but yours won't have to be excellent) but I could be entirely mistaken.