Premed 101 Forums

need some advice

Guest gk

I was wondering if someone could give me some advice on the University of Saskatchewan. This is my situation -

I'm a grade 12 student in Calgary. I'm pretty sure I want to leave town to do my undergrad...mainly b'coz I know I'm not going to get any real serious studying done if I stay at home. Plus... I want new experiences as well...living on campus and away from home.

I was looking up some info on the UofSask med. school site, and what surprised me was that out of 50 spots for in-province people...they only had 75 applicants. I e-mailed them to make sure it wasn't a typo either. I checked the official req's to be counted as an in-province applicant, and all it said was that you needed to have lived there for 3 years, and have a sask. driver's licence and healthcare. I think I'm willing to go do my undergrad there if I can get in - coz the chances are much better than other places. Hehe... is this starting to look like Pre-Med Syndrome to you? Do I sound desperate to get in at any cost??

Anyways, do u know why there would be so few applicants from within Saskatchewan? Does it have a bad reputation or some weird pre-requisite (that other med schools don't have) to get in??

Or...would it just be safer/better to do my undergrad @ UofA in edmonton.

Hope you don't mind answering all these questions!

Thanks,

-george-

if i remember correctly, this was the first or second year that they required the mcat. because of that, the number of applicants nose-dived and made it easier for those who had mcats... i may be wrong...

tones

Guest strider2004