Premed 101 Forums

VOLUNTEERING

Guest T02

Hi,

I'm currently a first year student and I wanted to know how much volunteering is reasonable for med school application? Many people have told me that it is the quality and not quantity that matters so much with volunteering. Although I understand this, I also know many students who have been volunteering for a very long time and I'm kind of worry as to my standing when compared to these students. This summer, I am in the process of volunteering at a hospital, old age home and elementary school. And in the coming year I am hoping to acquire a research position. However, I do feel that I might be rushing the process a bit and would like to know what type of volunteering seems more important and the time frame that some should be - I do want to get a real experience out of this and not just have something to write down on an application. In particular I would like to know the importance of the experience in research. I have yet to find any med school which require research as a prerequesite to enter med school, but at the same time been told that without it I would be less competitive. I would appreciate any advice you can give. Thank you.

Guest Carolyn

The most important thing about volunteering or doing other extra-curricular things is to show that you did something you loved, were able to make a small difference and that you also learned something from it that will help you to become a better physician. For example one of my volunteer activities was teaching karate. I loved it and learned alot about teaching and communicating with all types of people. I also think it helps to have some sort of clinical experience - whether it is volunteering at a hospital, clinic, nursing home etc. It will give you a realistic idea of what health care challenges there are and what the role of the doctor really is. Some people are very surprised how little time different types of physicians actually spend with the patient!