Premed 101 Forums

Undergrad Course selection

Hey, I am in my third year and wanted to know how adcoms looked at first year courses taken in higher years. I wanted to take a 1st year astronomy course next semester and i'm reconsidering taking it incase it will look poorly on my application. Any thoughts? Thank you

Hi BonIver,

Due to the changes in the application, the only place they would consider the "level" of the course is in the 10% subjective assessment. The remaining 90% is based on either your personal attributes or set calculations. Therefore, this 10% plays a relatively small role overall and includes an assessment of ALL academic aspects of your application (GPA, course load, MCAT, course difficulty, etc).

Based on this, I suspect that taking one first year course will have a very small impact on your overall application. Given the importance of GPA, any negative affect of a junior course will probably be overcompensated by receiving an A in that course.

However, just keep in mind that Calgary may tweak the application again next year based on the results of the changes made this year. Either way, IMO I just don't see one course having that big of an impact.