Premed 101 Forums

Law Degree??

Guest Lawgirl79

Guest Lawgirl79

Hello,

I was wondering if anyone knows how admissions committees treat law degrees. Would they be treated more like grad degrees? I'm in my first year of law, and I am thinking of writing the MCAT this summer and applying. Law school is unfortunately turning out to be nothing like I had hoped--I am intereted in health care law, etc and instead have spent an entire year of my life (that I can never have back) learning about the ownership of common fences and the like. I have a BSc (3 year) and my undergrad GPA was approx 3.75. Would this even be good enough to get in anywhere? I am seeing from these boards that med school admission is crazy. That GPA got me a scholarship to law school. Anyways, I don't want to waste my time writing another standardized test if my chances are pretty slim. I have a lot of research experience--would that be important? I have worked both in clinical reseach and health policy. I have 11 publications, mostly in medical journals, 2 are Health Canada policy documents. Also, if I applied with the intent of deferring a year to finish my program, would that count against me? Much as I am not thrilled with law school, the thought of doing 2 out of the 3 years and walking away with nothing doesn't appeal to me.

I would really appreciate any help anyone can offer me!

Guest Lawboy

Hi

they will treat your law degree as an undergrad degree. So for Western they will take your best year in law school (your second degree) as the GPA to look at. UofT will look at all of your years, Queens will take the best two years of your law degree, Mac will look at the entire record, and I'm not sure about the rest. This may or may not be a problem as I have known alot of people who ended up with lower marks in law school. However you may be kicking ass in there.