Premed 101 Forums

Need some advice please!!

Guest sunshinesmiles222002

Hi everyone!

Well, I actually wasn't even planning to go into medicine when I entered university. It never even crossed my mind. In high school, I really enjoyed biology, so, I decided to get a biology degree. I must admit it was difficult and challenging, but I loved learning about the subject. I must admit though that my grades aren't necessarily the best. I hadn't really made up my mind on what I wanted to do until a while back. Some life events occurred (I can't really post it here because it's a private matter between another person), and it suddenly hit me, "I want to be a doctor." But, as I started researching all these medical schools, I realized that I majorly lack the GPA. So, I have a few questions:

1. Is it worth it to do the pre-requisites again? Because I majored in biology, a lot of my requirements are pre-requisites for medicine, though I never took biochemistry.

2. If I do the pre-requisites again, do medical admissions take the average of the courses taken? Or do they take the most recent ones?

Some people have suggested I do another health care related field like respiratory therapy and apply to medicine after a few years of doing that (I did actually apply for the time being not because I really wanted to do it, but because my parents have been pressuring me to choose some type of career). But, if I take that route, is it going to be even more difficult to get accepted into medical school?

I just wish that I had a better idea of what I wanted to do prior to my university education..then, I could have prepared better. But, it didn't really happen that way. Now that I FINALLY found what I really want to do, I realize that I don't really have the preparation for this career. I just don't want to walk away from this until I at least give it a try.

Just need a bit of advice & direction! Any would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for reading! :)

Hi again,