Premed 101 Forums

Limit for applying to Top 25 schools

tb123

I was wondering what people thought a good threshold was for applying to some of the top schools in the states. I'm in 3rd year and got a 37Q, although I would rather stay in Canada due to cost, is it worth it to apply to some of the better schools in the states (Ivies, other top 25). I have some minor research work, very good ECs and shadowing. My GPA will be be 3.9+ after this year. Thanks

I don't think there is a limit but obviously you will have to do all those secondaries, pay all those secondary fees, and travel to all those schools. You are going to rack up a nice bill before going into more debt at a U.S. med school.

I think schools have a list of where you applied to because during my interview last year at Chicago Medical School...my interviewer noted that I only applied to one school....I have heard the same from others who applied to Wayne State University.

Applying to 25 schools is a little over the top...I only applied to one.

I was wondering what people thought a good threshold was for applying to some of the top schools in the states. I'm in 3rd year and got a 37Q, although I would rather stay in Canada due to cost, is it worth it to apply to some of the better schools in the states (Ivies, other top 25). I have some minor research work, very good ECs and shadowing. My GPA will be be 3.9+ after this year. Thanks

• 3 weeks later...