Premed 101 Forums

Options

Hey everyone,

I have a situation and would like to know if anyone has any advice. As most people on this forum my goal is to get into medicine. I would like to become an obstetrician.

I have my BSc major in Microbiology. I am currently working in the government with about 2 1/2 years of laboratory research/working experience. I am in the process of rewriting the MCAT. My GPA is 3.45 on a 4.5 scale which is terrible but applying IP in Mantioba my AGPA will be around 3.80

I have volunteered at the hospital (looking into it again). I dance, take musical theatre, volunteer at a shelter for pregnant youth and mentor 3 refugee children. (There was more volunteer work in between)

At my job I find it unfufilling and unsecure, working on a term to term basis. To pursue a career in health care I have applied to the Physician Assistant Program; Masters at U of M and Bachelors at McMaster (haven't heard anything of yet), Will be applying to UCN Bachelors of Midwifery as well. I was also approached from one of my past supervisors if I would be willing to do a Masters in Medical Microbiology. What should I do?

My primary choice are the Physician Assistant Programs. Looking at the forums for doing a second undergrad verses Masters If I don't get accepted to either PA programs I am geared towards taking Midwifery (a backup that I hopefully will enjoy) because it is in the field I intend to go into in medicine. It will also give me the opportunity to increase my GPA. The thought of doing lab work all my life is not all appealing. I guess I kind of answered my own questions then :)

Any thoughts?