Premed 101 Forums

Get a job or go abroad?

Hi everyone, I'm an Alberta resident getting ready to finish a graduate degree this May from the USA and I'm starting to examine next steps and determine my course of action for admission in next year's cycle.

I'm thinking of one of two options right now: get a job in the public health sector (maybe move to NS to qualify under Dal's IP formula) or go abroad to work in international health to improve my ECs and gain experience. I would appreciate any suggestions.

I think going abroad for medical school is too risky, especially if I want to go into a competitive residency later on. USA is certainly an option, but one that is compromised by my low MCAT scores and low cumulative GPA. I have a strong preference to stay in Canada, because of lower tuition and because I really like living there compared to my experience in the USA. I would like to take a leadership role in clinical and public health research once my medical career is in full swing, but am hesitant to apply to MD/PhD programs due to almost being 27 now.

I will need an improved MCAT for UWO which looks at the most recent writing. I applied to Dal, Queens and U of T this past cycle. Rejected from Dal pre-interview.

My cGPA for Alberta schools is just under the cutoffs, with the calculation for U of A being 3.24 after this year and 3.17 for U of C (due to differences in GPA calculation).

Here's the facts and numbers:

Undergrad 1 (Science, U of A)

Y1 3.06, Y2 2.37, Y3 1.75 (illness), Y4 2.04

ECs in leadership (campus organization), clinical experience (volunteering in different hospital wards over 4 years), canvassing (for heart and stroke, and lung associations over 3 years)

Undergrad 2 (Honours Kinesiology, Dalhousie)

Y1 3.82 (OMSAS), 3.78 (OMSAS, 1 extra half-year course)

Honours Research

Regional Conference Presentations

MCAT 2009 31M, BS11, PS10, V10

First author National Conference Presentation of Honours Thesis