Premed 101 Forums

University of Toronto Life Science?

sassychic

I am currently an IB high school student and just received my mid term grades which supposedly gets sent to ouac for universities to look at. They are terrible as hell mainly cause I screwed up my mid terms crazy. My top six for universities are needed and uof t require calculus and chemistry I believe for life sci. I got a 73 in chemistry, 77 in biology, 73 in advance functions, 89 in french, 90 in economics and english should be around 80 - 85. Do you think I have a shot at getting into u of t despite what they say about mid 80s requirements?

• Replies 167
  • Created
  • Last Reply

IB student here too. Your high school will "inflate" your marks and send them to university in order to compensate for the increased difficulty of the IB program. What that means is that you will be predicted an IB grade out of 7. A 7=96, 6=91, 5=86, 4=81 and so on. What the threshold is for the IB score really depends on your teacher. For example, in my school >85 in economics would be a 7 which equals 96 in "Academic-level" marks, which is what would appear on transcripts.

At least that's how I think it works in my school. I recommend walking into your guidance office and talking to your IB coordinator immediately to see how it works in your school. It's not good to stay unsure about these things and the guidance office is basically paid to explain all this to you anyways.

I am currently an IB high school student and just received my mid term grades which supposedly gets sent to ouac for universities to look at. They are terrible as hell mainly cause I screwed up my mid terms crazy. My top six for universities are needed and uof t require calculus and chemistry I believe for life sci. I got a 73 in chemistry, 77 in biology, 73 in advance functions, 89 in french, 90 in economics and english should be around 80 - 85. Do you think I have a shot at getting into u of t despite what they say about mid 80s requirements?