Premed 101 Forums

academic research

Guest debudebusu

Guest debudebusu

My major is in electrical engineering but I've always wanted to study Neuroscience. I am planning to pursue a master's degree in neuroscience but I really doubt my ability because I do not have sufficient background.

I am wondering if it is a good idea to go into medicine first, and then specialize in neurology. Or are there other possible options?

I'm not a grad student myself, so you may get a better response from one of them.

However, if you plan to study neuroscience with a very laboratory-based perspective then I don't think you really need to consider medicine. Unless you owuld like a really good understanding of the entire functioning of the body, and perhaps an appreciation of some of the applications of neuroscience to medicine, then you might be looking at medicine as a really expensive and roundabout manner of updating your knowledge of biology. It depends on your area of interest, obviously, but neurology tends to emphasize more of the psychological aspect of neuroscience (ie, the behavioural and physical manifestations of neural disorders), whereas you may be more interested in functioning at a cellular level. Your electrical engineering background might actually serve you quite well if you were interested in a field like prosthetic development.