Premed 101 Forums

grad students

Guest mimi

Hi,

I'd just like to know if the prerequisites for medical school admission is the same for an undregrad and grad students, if is so what are the differences?

Guest Ian Wong

I can't tell you much about this, as I didn't apply as a grad student. The short answer though, is: It depends.

The Canadian med schools all have different policies regarding how they treat grad students. We have several former grad students who are now med students/soon to be med students here, and perhaps they can give you some pointers. However, just be aware that each school evaluates your transcripts (undergrad and grad) and research contributions differently, so you'll want to check out each med school individually.

You can find links to their websites at the top of each forum page here.

Ian

UBC, Med 3

Guest Kirsteen

Hi mimi,

Applying as a graduate student, I have collected a bit of information that may answer some of your questions. Indeed, there are differences in the selection process for graduate applicants at some schools, whereas at others, not so. I'll run through some basics from some of the schools, but it's better to check out each of their web pages, or contact each directly, to receive the most up-to-date and accurate information.

The schools that I know of which treat graduate applicants differently are: McMaster, Ottawa, U. Toronto, McGill.

McMaster: graduate applicants receive an advantage if your GPA is lower than the median GPA of the applicant pool and below 3.00. In that case, McMaster will assign the applicant pool median GPA to represent one year of your graduate work, and will recalculate your average.