Premed 101 Forums

I am currently a high school student...

Guest Sara

Firstly - Ian Wong- WOW! this is awesome- do you know how many people surf the net to find something even CLOSE to this!Its funny cause before i saw this website i thought nothing like it existed! there were all those cheesy websites that didn't help at all!! It answers many of the questions that run through our minds regarding post-secondary- specifically medicine. I just wanted to let you know- this website is AWESOME- its greatly appreciated : )

Well here's the concern...I'm in Grade 12- Calgary Alberta, and well - i've ALWAYS wanted to become a doc- my marks are good- last report card average -> 90%. However- its hard for many high school students to "understand" the steps in post secondary education. I have and am taking all the sciences (bio,chem,physics,Math30,math31) See- I wanted to know what you guys think about taking Nursing first and then applying to Med school.- I mean- It would kind of support as a back up career if i happened to not go forward, and if i did- i'd have the clinical experience to apply to med school. I would just like to know if this is a good idea- and how it compares to that of getting a science degree- and trying to get into med school from there. Plz - Ian wong- i know your busy- i can totally understand that- i mean you being in med school and all- but if anyone reading this -has advice for me- it would be greatly appreciated if they could share them with me. By the way- i'm registering for the U of C next month- so i'm kind of stressed in that i'm running out of time to think of the steps i wanna take in my career life. Thanks :)

Sara

Guest Ian Wong