Premed 101 Forums

anyone can help me?

Guest chw6922

Guest chw6922

here is my situation. i'm supposed to be 3rd yr in U'f Waterloo Honor Science/Pre-Optometry&Health however i got suspended in 2nd yr 2nd term because i failed couple courses in 1st sem 2nd yr due to my dad's myocardial infraction (He is oversea in Taiwan, Asia), i graduated from Vancouver and came to Waterloo; 1st yr kina screwed cuz didn't realize the work load in university plus the high school background from BC wasn't good enough for Ontario universities. now i'm in 2nd yr now....average for now probably somewhere around 70's...hopefully would raise end of the term. cuz i didnt take any bio's back in gr 11 and 12, plus my 1st language isn't english..(only been to Canada for 5 yrs )..

i found those Microbio, cell&molecular bio, genetics, i've taken previously were kina too difficult for me w/o any bio background back in highschool, now i'm trying hard as much as i can...but i'm really afraid that i can't get into any med schools later on since i had such crapy record in undergrad @ waterloo. anyone have suggestions? ( i dont care where to go either U.S or Canada, as long as i can get in med school, i'm happy, it's my dream cuz i wasn't supposed be alive cuz a doc saved me as pre-mature born 2 lbs 26 weeks);

Guest chw6922

oh, another thing i've forgot to state was...i'm an international student (visa student)....so that makes even more difficult for me since most med schools dont take visa students except UBC, Alberta, Mac, and U'T.....(Western just posted that no longer take any visa in the future; but still take visa for Dentistry).......

Guest Ian Wong

No idea. I assume you've been thorough as far as seeing which med schools take on international students. It sounds like you've done some high school in BC; check the UBC website to see if you are considered an in-province resident. Similarly check with the Ontario schools if you are considered in-province there.