Premed 101 Forums

Can introverts get into med school? Should they be doctors?

Guest rahulai

Guest rahulai

First some background about me: I'm 28 with an honours BA in English (graduated in 2000). My overall GPA was 3.63, but if you disregard my first year (which I did 10 years ago!), my GPA is 3.97. Since I graduated from high school I've owned a small business in the service industry, gone to school for journalism (1 year - that was the year I got the crappy marks). Now I work on the business side of the publishing industry. After a LOT of thought, I've decided to apply to med school. First I'm going back to school to do some science courses (I did really well in university-prep science courses in high school, but I haven't even looked at a science textbook since then).

Anyway, I just had a meeting with an admissions person at a med school. When we talked about my extra-curricular activities I said that I like to do things alone quite a bit: read, hike, yoga, pottery, paint. The admissions guy then said that an "introvert" would have a hard time at med school because the program is structured around very small groups working closely together. He also said that they'd have to see some evidence that an applicant can work successfully in small groups. I never called myself an introvert during the meeting, but it seemed that he thought I was. I personally don't think I'm a huge introvert because I'm on the phone ALL day and I owned a coffee shop, etc. But I guess I DO have a tendency to need some downtime from working with people all day.

I got the impression that my choice of activities would hurt my chances of getting into med school just because they're solitary. I've read elsewhere on this site that people should do what they love when it comes to extra-currics, that doing what you love should be enough. But is that really true? And if I really am an introvert (i.e. sometimes needing time to be alone), is being a doctor the wrong choice for me?

Radha