Premed 101 Forums

Not a typical pre-med question...

ditde

I've been working hard as hell this semester and feel pretty well-prepared to ace my Finals and get that 4.0 that I'm aiming for. I'm exercising on the regular, taking time to relax with friends and most importantly I'm studying efficiently and effectively. I have my pre-med summer all planned out too. In short, things are going well.

But sometimes I find myself wondering if I'm really cut out to be a doctor, assuming I can get the grades (which is a tall order in itself, but I'm choosing to ignore that for now). I know that medicine interests me, but is that really enough? I began to seriously think about this when I was learning about cancer a few days ago and thought about how cool it would be to be an Oncologist... and then I thought about what the actual job entailed. Medical stuff aside, I can't imagine myself ever being able to appropriately interact with a terminally ill patient. I've never been very empathetic and that is a quality that I would hope all doctors out there possess.

I read the posts of some of the posters on this site, and I can actually feel their passion in wanting to help people. I can see that they want to go into medicine to do good and make a difference in people's lives. I don't feel like I have that passion. Even when I dream about my future in medicine (yes, I do that sometimes :D), I'm thinking about the cool anatomy classes and watching surgeries - not about actually HELPING PEOPLE.

I don't know if it's because I'm too caught up in the academic side of things right now since I'm currently in full-out school mode. I mean, I don't have a hollow tin chest, I'm not completely indifferent when it comes to helping people, I get that warm-fuzzy feeling too when I do a good deed... but no matter how much I want it to be, it's even close to being one of the main reasons I want to go into medicine (interest, prestige, being able to support my family when my parents retire).