Premed 101 Forums

Doing MCAT without having done orgo/bio chem

Curi0user

I know some of you have done it, but do you think it's a bad idea to do it?

I'm in second year and only doing my chemistry this summer and next year, so I'm a bit behind.

I want to take a stab at the MCAT next summer but I would not have any background on orgo/biochem.

Thoughts?

I know some of you have done it, but do you think it's a bad idea to do it?

I'm in second year and only doing my chemistry this summer and next year, so I'm a bit behind.

I want to take a stab at the MCAT next summer but I would not have any background on orgo/biochem.

Thoughts?

You will have some background in biochem if you've taken phys and biol1010 and thats all the background you need in biochem for the mcat. I personally found cell bio to be more useful than biochem for the mcat.

For orgo, yes you will be at a disadvantage but remember that only 20% of the BS is orgo... and many people take it without a background in orgo.

I'll be preparing to write the MCAT whilst taking Organic Chemistry. Bit scared but I think it will be doable.

Anyone have any thoughts on prep courses? I'm thinking of taking the prep101 course.

Everyone I know who has taken one has said it was a waste of money. I tell everyone who is thinking about taking a prep course this statistic. Guess what happens? They don't listen to me and end up becoming part of the statistic.

I wrote with no orgo or bio knowledge - I used Princeton Review textbooks and nothing else to study. Orgo was really hard to learn alone, I actually ended up really focusing on bio and taking "educated guesses" on the orgo passages after just reading through the orgo textbook twice before the exam (and not doing practice questions) :rolleyes: . Seemed to work out ok. That being said, I agree with kylamonkey that it would be easier to study and you would likely do better if you take an orgo course.