Premed 101 Forums

Entering UBC Med school after being out of school for 6 years?

Hi everyone,

I just joined this forum and already gained a lot of info from your experiences and discussions.

My question is whether you think I have any chances to enter UBC (only) med school or not?

I am 29 yrs old with Bachelor of Arts from AUD (American University in Dubai), graduated in 2006 with a GPA of 3.67/4. Now I am a BC resident and have 3 babies under 4 years old. In the past 6 years, I have worked part time and as volunteers and set up my own small business (all arts and graphics related), but mostly I was taking care of my pregnancies and babies. I have contacted UBC and they said I need to study 1.5 to 2 years of some science courses before I can even "apply"; which makes sense since I didn't take much science courses during my studies.

Make the long story short, I am ready to commit and study hard, but I don't want to leave my kids in daycare for two years to study these science courses and then realize "because" I have a BA degree from a foreign university I would not get accepted (or have VERY slim chances of getting accepted).

What do you think?

I would truly appreciate your input.

Thanks in advance.

Hi everyone,

I just joined this forum and already gained a lot of info from your experiences and discussions.

My question is whether you think I have any chances to enter UBC (only) med school or not?

I am 29 yrs old with Bachelor of Arts from AUD (American University in Dubai), graduated in 2006 with a GPA of 3.67/4. Now I am a BC resident and have 3 babies under 4 years old. In the past 6 years, I have worked part time and as volunteers and set up my own small business (all arts and graphics related), but mostly I was taking care of my pregnancies and babies. I have contacted UBC and they said I need to study 1.5 to 2 years of some science courses before I can even "apply"; which makes sense since I didn't take much science courses during my studies.