Premed 101 Forums

1st undergrad advice.

Hi all,

Have been lurking these forums for a bit lately, and decided to try and get some advice from you guys about the correct path I need to take.

Obviously my end goal is to get accepted into Med School somewhere in Canada, hopefuly UBC and then UBCO.

I have the necessary high school grades to enter into university, and currently I'm looking at doing a BSn here at UBCO. I come from a large medical family, all of whom still live in my home country of New Zealand.

The reasoning behind doing a BSn is primarily because I feel it would give me a good basis of understanding in the medical field, and prepare me for the rest of my life should I get accepted. I'm told that I can apply to UBC and others in my 3rd year of study if my GPA is good enough.

I'm a permanent resident before you ask, and will be getting citizenship in September. Failing getting accepted into a Canadian school I can apply with a BS to the 2 medical schools in New Zealand, and will be look upon favorably because of an international degree, but that's not what I want, as my life, spouse and family (well, her side of the family hehe) are here in Canada.

Anyhow, any advice would be great, and if you think I should be taking something else such as a bs in biology then please say so!

Obviously I'll be doing extra papers outside of the BSn to get the prerequisites for med.

Thanks!

What's a BSn? I'm not familiar with that...

If it is a bachelor of science in nursing (that's my guess), I'd say don't do it unless you want to be a nurse as your backup should you not get into medicine. I've heard there are a lot of subjective courses where it is hard to get As/+As. It may be an attractive thought to take nursing to get a better overall understanding of the medical field before medicine, but you'll get plenty of exposure once you're in medical school. If that is your only reason for doing a nursing degree then I personally don't think it's the best idea.