Premed 101 Forums

whats should I do? :/

sprinkles

Hello all,

So I am pretty new to the whole research thing and have been reading up on a bunch of stuff through the research discussion forum. I have a general idea (of most things) now (I just love pm101! :P lol).

I have been thinking about doing research but since I come from a non-science background I am finding it to be a bit difficult. From what I have read in the forums research is not at all required for med school but is nice for 'bonus marks'. I've also been able to conclude that it is rare for undergrads to get published, and that publishing in general comes down to luck? (could someone verify/explain this?)

So here is my situation...I was talking to the daughter of a family friend we have and we started talking about school and such. I asked her what she was majoring in etc and she said she is getting a MSc. SO, seeing this as an opportunity I asked her if she needed any help? a volunteer? At first she seemed to think it wasn't a good idea (from her reaction) but then she was like wait...yah...I think you would be good! Your background might actually come in handy...(she isnt the best at writing reports and such). SO she said yah sure! So I got pretty happy, we briefly discussed what she is working on (health products related) etc etc.