Premed 101 Forums

100% sure?

So this is going to sound absolutely ridiculous... but I'm genuinely curious.

Is there anyone out there who isn't actually 100% sure that being a medical student next year is what they want? Am I a bad person for having a sliver of creeping doubt as the May 15 date approaches?

#identitycrisis.

I think considering the considerate investment you plan to make, both time-wise and financially, it's not an easy decision. And if you make the decision without looking at it rationally, you'll probably be in for a not-so-pleasant surprise at some point when you realize what you signed up for.

Don't feel strange for having doubts, I do as well, and it's important to face those doubts head on.

I almost went into law, and I didnt know for sure what I wanted to do until after I got accepted. There were almost no other ppl like this in my class (I graduated mac a few yrs ago)--but in the end, I def made the right choice.

Some ppl around here are obcessed with the idea of meds so much they refuse to consider other options and will think you are crazy to think that meds is not 100% the best thing ever. I think it makes you thoughtful to atleast consider everything before pulling the trigger!

I think when you have doubts like that it's important to explore them and if you feel like your experiences still bring you back to medicine then it's the place for you (I'm in my second year off after graduating, I traveled a bunch in my first year and have done a lot of research and outreach in the community this year and in the end it lead me right back to medicine with more diverse perspectives)