Premed 101 Forums

Western MSc vs Queen MPH in Epidem. Any current students/graduates with adivce

Hey guys,

First time poster. I've been accepted into both programs and I don't know which one would be better for my future application. I've only been accepted as a reg. MPH student at queens while I've been accepted as a thesis based at Western, and I'm not sure which one is better. I'm planning on applying to med school afterwards, but I just wanted the opinions and experiences of some past students from these programs to help make my decision. Thanks.

I am currently an MPH student at U of Saskatchewan. I would recommend a course based program because degree completion deadlines are usually more clear-cut for course based programs.

Ultimately, you have to decide whether you want to get some research experience (thesis-based) or want to learn key concepts/theories/frameworks in public health.

You should consider how long each program will take. MPH is almost certainly shorter so you will get to apply to med sooner. However, it is course based and some schools will not give you extra points on your application for an MPH as they only give extra points for thesis-based masters.

MPH definitely shows an interest in the healthcare field, which some schools may like. MSc shows that you have research abilities, and provides potential for publications and conference presentations. I think an MSc will carry more weight on an application, but MPH is more linear (with a definite end-date) and may be more interesting for you if you are looking to go into medicine.

You should consider how long each program will take. MPH is almost certainly shorter so you will get to apply to med sooner. However, it is course based and some schools will not give you extra points on your application for an MPH as they only give extra points for thesis-based masters.