Premed 101 Forums

should i apply this year?

I have cgpa of 3.2 at mcgill for the past 2.5 years, and i have one year left. i am currently studying for the mcat, and will be giving it in september. My pre-reqs were taken at cegep level and I am in province for mcgill. I realize that i have very low chances of being accepted at most schools, and if i apply this round, i will only apply to mac and mcgill. I have stellar Ec's , everything from volunteering in a hospital for 2 years, volunteering abroad in a hospital for the summer, various student leadership positions to research experience in 2 labs at different hospitals. My parents want me to apply to international schools since they don't want me to reapplying again and they don't mind paying so much money but i want to try my best first to get into canadian schools. I am planning on raising my gpa in the last year since i won't be doing any extracurriculars this year as that is the reason for my low gpa. What would you guys suggest that i do? I will also be applying to some international schools but i am really not set on going that route before i try all my chances here at home. I have thought of doing a master's in public heath and reapplying with the last year grades next round but at this point, i am really confused to the general direction for the year after graduation and i am looking for some guidance.

Depending upon MCAT and then CaSPER, you have a shot at Mac. And with a killer Abstract, you have a shot @ McGill.

Realizing the difficulty of getting back to Canada as an IMG, you might also apply and start abroad. And you can still apply each year to med schools in Canada. This is defintiely an option.

I am not too familiar with what goes on in Alberta, but if you became IP there, you need to investigate your chances there.

I'm not sure that a Masters will help you all that much, let's see what others say.